Skip to main content

Wellsville FBLA

Posted Date: 07/08/2018

"WOW!" about sums it up!  Wellsville FBLA had the most qualifiers to date, with 28 students competing at the 2018 FBLA National FBLA Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland June 26-July 2.  Although the rule I have established is that only 1st and 2nd place finishers at the FBLA State Leadership Conference can compete for Wellsville FBLA at nationals, every state can send their Top 4 placers in every event.  With the exception of 3 students who filled in for groups because you can only compete at nationals in one event (unless it is a chapter event), all placed in the Top 2 at state.


With over 12,000 students attending from across the US, the Virgin Islands, Canada, China, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic and European Department of Defense; Wellsville, Kansas marked its spot on the map with 7 of the 11 individual or team presentation/interview events making finals.  Every competitive event had anywhere from 100-120 teams.  To make finals you had to be in the Top 12-15 teams left in your event after the preliminary round.  By the end of the NLC Award of Excellence ceremony, five Top 10 awards were garnered by Wellsville FBLA members.  I was so very proud of the kids.


Not only did the students compete and attend workshops and sessions, but they were given an opportunity to experience Baltimore Harbor through a dinner cruise.  We also traveled to Washington D.C. one of the days and we attended a Baltimore Orioles game.


Below are the the 28 students who attended and how they did.  If you see any of these kids this summer, you might tell them congrats.  I have attached a picture of all of the students after the Award of Excellence ceremony (minus Marissa Haagensen) and a picture of those who won awards holding their trophies.


Broadcast Journalism--Emily Kline, Mackenzie Moore & Haylen Wilhite--6th place nationally

Business Financial Plan--Jeff Ebeck, Lauren O'Dea & Diamond Park--2nd place nationally--team won $800.00

Business Law--Marissa Haagensen

Client Services--Spencer Morin--5th place nationally--she won $200.00

E-Business--Holly Hoehn, Jacky Lopez & Grace Newhouse--made national finals

Intro to Business Presentation--Paige McCarty & Kaylie Reese--made national finals

Intro to Public Speaking--Ashley King

Local Chapter Annual Business Report--Grace Newhouse (Chapter Event)--8th place nationally

Management Information Systems--James Hurd, Cass Mignot, Carson Richardson--made national finals

Publication Design--Jaycee Fluderer & Lauren Taylor

Public Service Announcement--Sierra Corwine, Dawson Reeve & David Schnoor

Social Media Campaign--Blake Ohlmeier, Zach Pearson & Sean Roberts (Becker)--9th place nationally

Web Page Design--Wyatt Bender, Julia Delgado & Callahan McCarthy